Kick-Off Meeting 2010

When: May 5, 8:00am – May 7, 5:00pm, 2010

Where: International Affairs Offices, 526 Prices Fork Rd.,
Blacksburg, VA 24061-0378

For our Annual Meeting in 2010, SANREM CRSP kicked off the next phase of this program. The agenda of this wide-ranging 3-day meeting appears below, with links to the presentations made by the attendees, where available.


Wednesday, May 5th, 2010

Time Event
8:00 AM Van pick-up of participants at the Inn at Virginia Tech
8:30 – 9:15 Welcome and Introductions (PDF), SK De Datta, Administrative PI SANREM CRSP; Director OIRED; Associate Vice President for International Affairs, Virginia Tech
9:15 – 9:30 Importance of Quality Science in CRSP Research, Ron Cantrell, SANREM CRSP External Evaluation Panel Chair; former Director General International Rice Research Institute
9:30 – 10:30 SANREM CRSP: Background, Goals, and Objectives (PPT), Theo Dillaha, Program Director SANREM CRSP
10:30 – 11:00 Break
11:00 – 11:15 USAID Goals and Objectives: SANREM CRSP Context,  Harry Rea, USAID Agreement Officer Technical Representative SANREM CRSP
11:15 – 11:30 Integration of Gender into SANREM CRSP Activities (PDF), Maria Elisa Christie, SANREM Gender Equity Coordinator; Program Director, Women in International Development, Virginia Tech
11:30 – 12:00 Discussion
12:00 – 1:30 Lunch

SANREM CRSP Cross-Cutting Research Activities

Time Event
1:30 – 2:00 Economic Impact Analysis (PPT), Mike Bertelsen, SANREM Economic Impact Analysis Co-Coordinator and Associate Director OIRED, and George Norton, SANREM Economic Impact Analysis Co-Coordinator and Professor of Agricultural and Applied Economics, Virginia Tech
2:00 – 2:30 Technology Networks (PPT), Keith Moore, SANREM Technology Networks Coordinator and Associate Program Director SANREM CRSP
2:30 – 3:00 Gendered Knowledge (PPT), Maria Elisa Christie, SANREM Gendered Knowledge Coordinator
3:00 – 3:30 Break
3:30 – 4:00 Soil Quality and Carbon Sequestration (PDF), Michael Mulvaney, SANREM Soil Quality and Carbon Sequestration Coordinator and Assistant Program Director SANREM CRSP
4:00 – 5:00 Discussion
5:00 Adjourn
7:00 PM Dinner at S. K. De Datta’s home

Thursday, May 6th, 2010

Time Event
8:00 – 9:30 AM LTRA Team Meetings and Planning (Inn at Virginia Tech)
9:30 Van pick-up of participants at the Inn at Virginia Tech
9:45 – 10:00 Overview of Day’s Program, Theo Dillaha

SANREM Long-Term Research Activities: Overview, Goals, Objectives, and

Time Event
10:00 – 10:30 Conservation Agriculture as a Potential Pathway to Better Resource Management, Higher Productivity, and Improved Socio-Economic Conditions in the Andean Region (PDF) (Bolivia, Ecuador), PI:  Jeff Alwang, Virginia Tech
10:30 – 11:00 Developing Sustainable Conservation Agricultural Production Systems for Smallholder Farmers in Southern Africa (PDF) (Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique), PI: Neal Eash, University of Tennessee
11:00 – 11:30 Sustainable Management of Agroecology Resources for Tribal Societies (PDF) (India, Nepal), PI: Travis Idol, University of Hawaii
11:30 – 12:00 A Conservation Agriculture Production System Program for the Central Plateau of Haiti (PDF), PI: Jim McKenna, Virginia Tech
12:00 – 1:30 Lunch
1:30 – 2:00 Development and Transfer of Conservation Agriculture Production Systems (CAPS) for Small-holder Farms in Eastern Uganda and Western Kenya (PPT), PI: Jay Norton, University of Wyoming
2:00 – 2:30 Improving Soil Quality and Crop Productivity through Conservation Agricultural Practices in Cropping Systems of West Africa (PDF) (Ghana, Mali), PI: P.V.V. Prasad, Kansas State University
2:30 – 3:00 Conservation Agriculture for Food Security in Cambodia and the Philippines (PDF), PI: Manuel Reyes, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical University
3:00 – 3:30 Break
3:30 – 5:00 Discussion and identification of potential cross-project collaborations, Theo Dillaha, facilitator
5:00 Adjourn

Friday, May 7th, 2010

SANREM CRSP Business and Technical Committee Meeting

Time Event
7:45 Van pick-up of participants at the Inn at Virginia Tech
8:00 – 8:15 Overview of Day’s Goals (Theo Dillaha)
8:15 – 8:30 SANREM CRSP Policy and Operating Procedures Manual (PPT), Theo Dillaha
8:30 – 9:00 SANREM Organizational Structure, Budget, Budget Policies (PPT), SK De Datta
9:00 – 9:30 Financial Procedures (PPT), Jane Lee, Assistant Program Coordinator
9:30-10:00 Initial Environmental Evaluations and PERSUAPs (PPT), Mike Mulvaney
10:00 – 10:30 Break
10:30 – 11:00 Reporting Requirements (PPT), Keith Moore
11:00 – 11:30 Communications: Getting the Message Out (PPT), Keith Moore
11:30 – 12:00 TraiNet, Jane Lee
12:00 – 1:00 Lunch provided
1:00 – 1:15 Associate Awards and Technical Assistance Program (PPT), Mike BertelsenGuidance: Associate Awards (DOC); Technical Assistance (PDF)
1:15 – 1:30 International Travel Requirements, Keith Moore
1:30 – 2:00 SANREM Knowledge Base and Partner Responsibilities (PPT), Cheryl Heatwole-Shenk
2:00 – 2:30 Questions and Discussion
2:30 – 3:00 Break

SANREM CRSP Technical Committee Meeting – Theo Dillaha, Facilitator

Time Event
3:00 – 3:15 Responsibilities of Technical Committee
3:15 – 3:30 Election of TC Chair
3:30 – 4:00 SANREM CRSP POP Manual Discussion and Suggestions
4:00 – 4:30 TC planning and Discussion: Next annual meeting location; how to facilitate cross-activity collaboration; future TC meeting frequencies and dates; Board nominations
4:30 – 4:45 Closing Remarks, Harry Rea, USAID AOTR
4:45 – 5:00 Closing Remarks, SK De Datta
5:00 Adjourn


SANREM Technical Committee Members

  • Jeff Alwang, Chairperson, Virginia Tech
  • Neal Eash, University of Tennessee
  • Travis Idol, University of Hawaii
  • Steve Hodges, Virginia Tech
  • Jay Norton, University of Wyoming
  • P.V.V. Prasad, Kansas State University
  • IARC Representative, Vacant
  • Host Country Representative, Vacant
  • Maria Elisa Christie, Gender Coordinator, Virginia Tech
  • Harry Rea, USAID AOTR (ex officio voting)
  • SK De Datta, Virginia Tech (ex officio)
  • Theo Dillaha, Virginia Tech (ex officio)
  • Keith M. Moore, Virginia Tech (ex officio)
  • Michael Mulvaney, Virginia Tech (ex officio)

SANREM Board of Directors

  • Gary Pierzynski, Kansas State University
  • John Dooley, Virginia Tech
  • Alton Thompson, North Carolina A&T
  • Peter Garrod, University of Hawaii-Manoa
  • Anne Alexander, University of Wyoming
  • John Wilkerson, University of Tennessee
  • Mark Rosegrant, IARC Representative
  • Not designated, Host Country Representative
  • Harry Rea (ex officio voting) USAID AOTR
  • S.K. De Datta, Virginia Tech (ex officio)
  • Theo Dillaha, Virginia Tech (ex officio)
  • Keith M. Moore, Virginia Tech (ex officio)